SURFACE BOOK

Holzgraben 5
60313 Frankfurt am Main

Fon +49 (0) 69 153 269 446
Fax +49 (0) 69 153 269 447

 

Order hotline

+49 (0) 69 153 269 446

E-Mail for orders

kontakt@surface-book.de

 


 

Links


The 100 surfaces of the year

www.surface-yearbook.de


The surface portal

www.eSurface.de


The surface shop

www.surface-stores.de

 

 

reddot design award - winner 2012 - SURFACE YEARBOOK 2012
 

 

reddot design award - winner 2011 - SURFACE ART BOOK JUPP GAUCHEL RHYTHM & GREENS

WELCOME TO SURFACE BOOK

Gerd Ohlhauser
Photo: Nicole Altmann, Rehau

After 18 years of working with and on surfaces, I launched the SURFACE BOOK publishing company in 2008. Our books aim to make the surface accessible as a sensuous phenomenon while interpreting it from a design perspective. This seems to me all the more called for, since the talk in today’s design world is more than ever all about material, when what is really meant is its surface aesthetics. The paradigm shift from material to surface is well under way.

My key publication is THE INTERNATIONAL SURFACE YEARBOOK, a bilingual (German/English) compilation published on an annual basis with the intention of illustrating, accompanying and promoting the paradigm shift from material to surface and the dematerialisation to be observed across broad sectors.

We also publish, in the same large format 23 x 30.2 cm, SURFACE BOOKS on related topics in architecture, design, business and society and SURFACE ART BOOKS, focussing on the art of the surface. The EDITION SURFACE photo books in the flipbook format 14.3 x 12 cm round off the programme with striking and sensuous surfaces.

Other series, themes and services, such as the EDITION DARMSTADT*,  are described in our programme overview.

Gerd Ohlhauser, Darmstadt 2012

*KULTURFÖRDERUNG VON UNTEN  In light of the dismal state of publicly sponsored culture (FAZ newspaper: “Culture without Money”), Surface Book is organising culture sponsorship from the bottom-end up with its Edition Darmstadt. Flipbooks containing approx. 300 pages on various cultural assets in Darmstadt that are equally unknown and so far overlooked aim to increase their perception and popularity, thereby helping to promote Darmstadt’s cultural variety, wealth of attractions, appeal and familiarity. You, too, can support this non-profit project by becoming a co-editor named in the book when you subscribe to EDITION DARMSTADT.

 

Aus: Gert Selle, Im Haus der Dinge, Oktober 2015:

"Anmerkung des Verlegers

Mit der Drucklegung dieses Buches habe ich Verlag und Geschäftsführung von SURFACE an Peter Wesner, Verleger des Designmagazins form, ubergeben. Ich bedanke mich beim Team der form für die engagierte Unterstützung beim Abschluss des Buches und freue mich auf zukünftige Zusammenarbeit.

Gerd Ohlhauser"

SURFACE BOOK

Holzgraben 5
60313 Frankfurt am Main
Fon +49 (0) 69 153 269 446
Fax +49 (0) 69 153 269 447

Bestellhotline

Fon +49 (0) 69 153 269 446

Bestell-E-Mail

kontakt@surface-book.de


 

Links


Die 100 Oberflächen des Jahres

www.surface-yearbook.de


Das Oberflächen-Portal

www.eSurface.de


Der Oberflächen-Shop

www.surface-stores.de

 

 

reddot design award - winner 2012 - SURFACE YEARBOOK 2012
 

 

reddot design award - winner 2011 - SURFACE ART BOOK JUPP GAUCHEL RHYTHM & GREENS

HERZLICH WILLKOMMEN BEI SURFACE BOOK

Gerd Ohlhauser
Foto: Nicole Altmann, Rehau

Nach 18 Jahren Arbeit an und auf der Oberfläche habe ich im Jahr 2008 den Verlag SURFACE BOOK gegründet. Seine Publikationen sollen die Oberfläche als sinnliches Phänomen erlebbar machen und gestalterisch deuten. Dies scheint mir umso angesagter, als in der Gestaltung heute mehr denn je vom Material gesprochen wird, aber fast immer seine Oberflächenästhetik gemeint ist. Dabei ist der Pardigmenwechsel vom Material zur Oberfläche in vollem Gange.

Meine Kernpublikation ist das jährlich erscheinende zweisprachige (deutsch/englisch) THE INTERNATIONAL SURFACE YEARBOOK. Sie soll den Paradigmenwechsel vom Material zur Oberfläche, die Entmaterialisierung weiter Bereiche, abbilden, begleiten und befördern.

Dazu kommen SURFACE BOOKS zu angrenzenden Themen aus Architektur, Design, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sowie SURFACE ART BOOKS zur Kunst der Oberfläche im gleichen Großformat 23 x 30,2 cm. Die Fotobücher der EDITION SURFACE im Flipbook-Format 14,3 x 12 cm ergänzen das Programm mit sinnlichen Oberflächen-Erlebnissen.

Weitere Reihen, Themen und Leistungen wie etwa die EDITION DARMSTADT* entnehmen Sie bitte der Programmübersicht.

Gerd Ohlhauser, Darmstadt 2012

*KULTURFÖRDERUNG VON UNTEN Angesicht des Elends öffentlicher Kulturförderung (FAZ: „Kultur ohne Geld") organisiert Surface Book mit der Edition Darmstadt Kuturförderung von unten. Jeweils etwa 300-seitige Flipbooks über ebenso bekannte wie bislang übersehene Darmstädter Kulturgüter sollen deren Wahrnehmung und Nachfrage stärken und so die kulturelle Vielfalt, den Erlebniswert, die Attraktivität und Bekanntheit Darmstadts fördern. Auch Sie können das Non-Profit-Projekt unterstützen und im Buch genannter Mitherausgeber werden, indem Sie die EDITION DARMSTADT abonnieren.

Aus: Gert Selle, Im Haus der Dinge, Oktober 2015:

"Anmerkung des Verlegers

Mit der Drucklegung dieses Buches habe ich Verlag und Geschäftsführung von SURFACE an Peter Wesner, Verleger des Designmagazins form, ubergeben. Ich bedanke mich beim Team der form für die engagierte Unterstützung beim Abschluss des Buches und freue mich auf zukünftige Zusammenarbeit.

Gerd Ohlhauser"